Congress MPs to skip Constitution Day event in Parliament on Friday

Image Source : FILE PHOTO

Representational image.

Congress MPs will not be participating in the Central Hall event that will take place on the occasion of Constitution Day on November 26, 2022 (Friday).

Congress leaders Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Mallikarjun Kharge and Jairam Ramesh have asked other opposition parties to skip the event as well. 

As part of Constitution Day celebrations this year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will participate in programmes being organised in Parliament and Vigyan Bhawan on November 26, his office said on Wednesday.

The day is celebrated to commemorate the adoption of the Constitution by the Constituent Assembly in 1949.

The observation of Constitution Day started in 2015, based on the vision of the prime minister to give due recognition to the significance of this historic date, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) said in a statement.

The roots of this vision can also be traced back to the ‘Samvidhan Gaurav Yatra’ organised by the then Gujarat chief minister Modi in 2010.

As part of Constitution Day celebrations this year, the prime minister will participate in the programmes being organised in Parliament and Vigyan Bhawan on Friday, the PMO said.

The programme organised in Parliament will begin at 11 AM and will be held in the Central Hall. It will be addressed by President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.

After the speech of the President, the nation will join him live, in reading the Preamble of the Constitution.

The President will also release the digital version of Constituent Assembly Debates, digital version of calligraphed copy of the Constitution and updated version of the Constitution that will include all amendments till date, the statement said.

He will also inaugurate an ‘online quiz on constitutional democracy’, it added.

Modi will inaugurate the two-day Constitution Day celebrations organised by the Supreme Court, at 5:30 PM in the Plenary Hall of Vigyan Bhawan.

All judges of the Supreme Court, chief justices of all high courts and senior-most puisne judges, Solicitor General of India, and other members of the legal fraternity will be present on the occasion.

The prime minister will also address the distinguished gathering, the statement said.

(With inputs from PTI)

ALSO READFuel price rise, China conflict, farm laws: Congress chalks out strategy to gherao Centre for Winter Session

ALSO READ | “Will go on hunger strike if…” Navjot Singh Sidhu threatens Channi government

Latest India News

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *