India vs New Zealand, 1st Test, Day 1 Live Score: Agarwal departs as Jamieson strikes early; Pujara walks in

India's Shubman Gill plays a shot during the day one of

India’s Shubman Gill plays a shot during the day one of their first test cricket match with New Zealand in Kanpur, India, Thursday, Nov. 25, 2021. 

Hello and welcome to India TV’s Live Cricket Coverage of India vs New Zealand, 1st Test, Day 1 at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. I am Aditya K Halder and will take you through the day’s proceedings. 

Related Stories

India 53/1 in 17 overs Gill is feeling comfortable after spending 15 overs in the middle. The right-handed batter came down heavily on spinner Ajaz Patel by clobbering him for a six and a four followed by another boundary of Jamieson in the very next over. At this pace, India might cross 100-run mark by lunch with comfort.

India 36/1 in 15 overs Gill and Pujara are taking their time with the new ball as the threat of Jamieson still looms at large. Interestingly New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has already introduced spin from the other end in Ajaz Patel. The decision so far has not really troubled the Indian top-order.

India 24/1 in 10 overs Gill is joined by vice-captain Cheteshwar Pujara in the middle as Jamieson continues to probe Indian batters around the off stump line with movement both ways.

India 21/1 in 7.5 overs: OUT! Jamieson strikes early. His persistency with the off stump line with in and outward movement finally paid dividend as Mayank nicked this one. The ball certainly moved away from the opener on the fourth stump line and Mayank couldn’t help but poke it to Blundell behind the stumps.

India 15/0 in 5 overs Steady start by both openers as they look to deal with early swing. Southee and Kyle Jamieson have been bowling in tandem with the latter bowling outswingers already.

9:32 AM Both openers Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal have walked out in the middle. Tim Southee will start with the new ball. 

9:19 AM A dream come true moment for Shreyas Iyer, who receives his maiden Test cap from legendary Sunil Gavaskar.

9:10 AM: Pitch Report The pitch is giving every hint of being the rank turner like it has always been in the past. There is no grass on the pitch and some cracks are already opening up. Batting first is a wise choice as the wicket will be easier to bat on early but those cracks will only get wider and play up later on. Given the nature of the cracks, which are quite prominent, pacers will get some reverse swing as well.

9:08 AM Let’s take a look at the complete line-up.

India Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

9:02 AM India have opted to bat first after winning the toss. Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal are all set to open while Shreyas Iyer has been handed his Test debut by stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane.


India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Jayant Yadav, Srikar Bharat (2nd wk), Prasidh Krishna

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wk), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Will Young, Glenn Phillips (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, William Sommerville, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *