India vs New Zealand, 1st Test, Day 1 Live Score: India win toss, opt to bat first; Shreyas Iyer makes debut

Shreyas Iyer (centre) is congratulated by India teammates
Image Source : BCCI (TWITTER)

Shreyas Iyer (centre) is congratulated by India teammates after receiving his maiden Test cap from Sunil Gavaskar ahead of first India vs New Zealand Test in Kanpur on Thursday.

Hello and welcome to India TV’s Live Cricket Coverage of India vs New Zealand, 1st Test, Day 1 at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. I am Aditya K Halder and will take you through the day’s proceedings. 

Related Stories

9:32 AM Both openers Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal have walked out in the middle. Tim Southee will start with the new ball. 

9:19 AM A dream come true moment for Shreyas Iyer, who receives his maiden Test cap from legendary Sunil Gavaskar.

9:10 AM: Pitch Report The pitch is giving every hint of being the rank turner like it has always been in the past. There is no grass on the pitch and some cracks are already opening up. Batting first is a wise choice as the wicket will be easier to bat on early but those cracks will only get wider and play up later on. Given the nature of the cracks, which are quite prominent, pacers will get some reverse swing as well.

9:08 AM Let’s take a look at the complete line-up.

India Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

9:02 AM India have opted to bat first after winning the toss. Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal are all set to open while Shreyas Iyer has been handed his Test debut by stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane.


India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Jayant Yadav, Srikar Bharat (2nd wk), Prasidh Krishna

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wk), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Will Young, Glenn Phillips (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, William Sommerville, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *